This gem of a house presents superbly as one approaches 118 from the storied cobblestoned street of High. Built in 1790 by Dr. William Robertson and his wife Henriette, who inherited the land from her Father, Dr. William Van Murray, the house originally contained 20 rooms. Captain James C. Leonard purchased the building in 1892, and converted the 20 rooms into a hotel known as The Leonard House .The Leonard House was widely acclaimed amongst travelers arriving at Long Wharf [located at the end of High Street] on sailing vessels and steamboats.In 1906, the house was divided by Captain Leonard into 2 residences and the left half was moved 15 feet from 120 High to 118 High Street where it remains today. Historically significant, yet rich in charm and comfort, this home is a fabulous entertaining venue. The lavishly-trimmed front porch provides wonderful views of iconic High Street, while the back porch, overlooking gorgeous back gardens, provides sweeping vistas of the Harbor.The existing broad staircase, with walnut posts and bannisters, once allowed for women to descend gracefully in their hoop skirts, while the gentlemen waited patiently in the grand drawing rooms. The house boasts 10 foot ceilings on the first floor along with elaborate trim, magnificent doors and beautiful fireplaces throughout. There is a full bath on the first floor so a primary ensuite could be accommodated on the first floor if so desired. The second floor showcases 4 bedrooms, 2 full baths and a family room or study. The third floor is complete with 2 bedrooms, a full bath, a den or library as well as a storage room.This glorious, grand old house is awaiting a new steward to continue to protect and guide it through the 21st century.